Winnipeg Police Association

Protecting What Matters

Winnipeg, MB: After eight years as Winnipeg Police Association (WPA) president and 33 years of service with the Winnipeg Police Service (WPS), Maurice ‘Moe’ Sabourin announced today he is retiring from the WPS and stepping down as WPA President on September 24, 2022.

Sabourin, who served two terms as WPA president, will be succeeded by Cory Wiles, who was confirmed as the new WPA president following a vote by the association’s membership earlier this week.

Winnipeg, MB: The Winnipeg Police Association (WPA) today released the following statement in response to Winnipeg City Council’s decision to approve the negotiated agreement between the WPA, the Winnipeg Police Service (WPS) and the City of Winnipeg to provide our members with access to a secure parking facility downtown at market rates:

"Safe working conditions are a core responsibility for every employer, including the City of Winnipeg. The lack of secure parking downtown has been a long-term concern for our membership, and there have been a number of serious incidents where WPS members and staff have been targeted by criminal elements.

Fredericton, NB: Winnipeg Police Association (WPA) President, Maurice (Moe) Sabourin, was proud to present the Canadian Police Association (CPA) Award of Excellence to two WPA members last night at the CPA awards banquet in Fredericton. Constable Jason Towle and Constable Oli Hanneson were nominated by WPA treasurer Ward Gordon in relation to an incident that saw them go above and beyond the call of duty. Constables Towle and Hanneson were selected for this prestigious award from numerous nominations from across Canada.

Winnipeg, MB - June 14, 2022 – Winnipeg Police Association (WPA) President Maurice ‘Moe’ Sabourin today released the following statement on reports that Winnipeg Police Service (WPS) Chief, Danny Smyth, has been nominated for President of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

"The WPA and its members are extremely troubled by recent reports that WPS Chief, Danny Smyth, is actively seeking to be appointed President of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police.

WINNIPEG, MB: Today, the Manitoba Motorcycle Ride for Dad (MRFD) celebrated its 14TH Ride and attracted over 1,000 registered riders. The record of 1,547 riders set in 2019 is safe for another year. Funds raised from today’s Ride will total close to $300,000 bringing the 14-year fundraising total to over $3.1 million dollars. Proceeds stay in Manitoba for prostate cancer research and education.

All Ride for Dad prizes and 50/50 were claimed at the Wind-up on May 28, 2022.

The 50/50 total sales were $5,774 and the winner took home $2,887.


Jacquelyn Schwartz - ticket number 0139711 - winner of the 2022 Winnipeg Police Association 50-50 in support of the Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba. The jackpot was $40,390 and Jacquelyn receives half – $20,195. Thank you and everyone who kindly purchased tickets. See you next year.



The Cool 2Be Kind project submission deadline has been extended to January 31, 2022! Students and educators are encouraged to submit their Kindness project proposal online at

Cool 2Be Kind was created by the WPA and helps to teach students in grades K-8 the value of being kind to others and making positive choices in school and in life.

Students and educators are invited to submit a Kindness project proposal for their school with the opportunity to receive funding in the amount of $500 to see their project come to life.

Over the past nine years, the Cool 2Be Kind campaign has funded 223 school Kindness projects totaling $111,500. The Winnipeg Police Association believes teaching students the benefits of kindness is a positive, pro-active approach.

Funding for Cool 2Be Kind school Kindness projects is provided by the Winnipeg Police Association and generous corporate sponsors. For a complete sponsor list visit:

Students and educators from Winnipeg K-8 schools may visit and submit their Kindness project proposal online. The extended deadline for Kindness project submissions is January 31, 2022.

Manitoba Premier Heather Stefanson celebrates the WPA’s Cool 2Be Kind campaign together with WPA president, Moe Sabourin, vice president, Jeremy Cull, and the WPA Board of Directors. Premier Stefanson has been the Cool 2Be Kind campaign honorary co-chair since 2016.